Beavers (6 – 8 years)

Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between six and eight years old.

They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scouting family. Young people can join Beaver Scouts in the three months leading up to their sixth birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between eight and eight years six months.

Easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts, Beaver Scouts enjoy making friends, playing games, going on visits and helping others. They usually meet together once a week in a Beaver Scout Colony.

Some Beaver Scout Colonies also organise Sleepovers. These are often the first time a young person spends a night away from home. They take place in suitable buildings, often Scout centres.

More information about Beaver Scouting

Cub Scouts (8 – 10.5 years)

There are loads of fun things that you can do as a Cub Scout.

You will get a chance to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, computing and collecting. If you do them properly you will get a badge which you can wear on your uniform.

Cub Scouts also get to go on trips and days out, to places like the zoo, theme parks or a farm. Sometimes you will be able to go camping with the rest of your Pack. This will mean you sleeping in a tent and doing loads of outdoor activities.

More information about Cub Scouting

Scouts (10.5 – 14 years)

The Scout section is for young people, usually agedbetween 10½ and 14 years. A young person can come in to the troop at 10 and may stay until they are 14 years old. The Scout Troop is the third and final section in the Scout Group.

Scouts are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities as part of their programme. “Participation” rather than meeting set standards is the key approach and for the Scout who wants to be recognised for his or her achievements there are a number of Challenges Awards and Activity Badges. Scouts take part in a balanced programme that helps them to find out about the world in which they live, encourages them to know their own abilities and the importance of keeping fit and helps develop their creative talents. It also provides opportunities to explore their own values and personal attitudes

Being outdoors is important and half the programme is given over to taking part in both the traditional Scouting skills, such as camping, survival and cooking as well as the wide range of adventurous activities, anything from abseiling to yachting.

More information about the Scout Section

Explorer Scouts (14 – 18 years)

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old. They make up the fourth section of the Scouting family. There are many types of Explorer Scout Units, some may be linked to your local Scout Group.

As an Explorer Scout, you will get the chance to work with other Explorer Scouts in your District, not just your Unit. By doing this, you will get the chance to do many more activities, not just the ones your Unit organises.

Explorer Scouts also have the opportunity to work in younger sections as members of the Young Leader Scheme.

More information about Explorer Scouting

Network (18 – 25 years)

The Scout Network is the section for 18 to 25 year olds who wish to carry on their personal development through Scouting. There are many different activities and Awards available for Scout Network members to participate in.

Network is flexible, and once you are a member of one Network, you are automatically a member of all Networks across the UK! If you’re already a Leader, or Active Support member then you can still be an active member of Network. If your time only allows you the opportunity to take part in Network activities once a month, then that’s fine. Likewise, if you go away to university, through your local Network you can contact your nearest Network to uni and continue your Networking whilst you’re there.

Click here to find out more about Scout Network